How to manually select or deselect files in Connected

Document number: 11224

 

There are a default set of files chosen for you for backup - see Eureka! document 15293 — Files backed by default in Connected software. You may manually add more files to your backup, or remove files from your backup. If you are over the 750 MB quota, you must deselect some files for backup.

Click on a link below:

Select files (add to backup list) for backup by Connected software
Deselect files (remove from backup list) for backup by Connected software

 

 


Add files to backup

You may add any of the files on your hard drive to the list files to be backed up. However, remember that you may only select up to 750 MB total of data to be backed up. Please remember - back up only essential DATA files. Do not back up applications or Operating System files. For more information about non data files, see Eureka! document 15293 — Files backed by default in Connected - Non data files.

To select additional files for backup by Connected software, follow the procedure below:

  1. Launch Connected software by double-clicking on the icon in the system tray. Connected TLM icon

  2. Click on the Backup View tab.

  3. On the left side of the screen, select Explore to pick files from the options along the left side of the window. A list of files is displayed.

  4. Connected will list all files it finds on your machine.

  5. To choose a single file for backup, navigate on the left side of the screen to the directory in which the file resides.
    • When the file name appears on the right side of the screen, you may click in the box to the left of the file name until a green checkmark appears in the box.
  6. To choose an entire folder for backup, click on the folder name on the left side of the screen.
    • On the right side of the screen, a choice appears at the top of the file and folder list that reads " ...this entire folder..." Click in the checkbox to the left of that choice.
    • The Backup Rule Wizard screen appears asking how you would like to handle the files in that directory. Choose Back up all files in this directory and click OK.
    • Remember: All files and subfolders in the c:\user folder are backed up by default already.

The files or folders you selected will be included in your next backup. Note: The 750 MB quota includes files that are selected, even if they do not need to be backed up currently.

 

Connected policy stipulates that if you do not back up to Connected for a 60 days, that account is considered no longer in use and will be deleted. If you delete a file from your computer it will be deleted from the backup server after 60 days.

 

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.

 


Deselect files (remove from backup list)

You may deselect files from the list of files to be backed up. Once you deselect a file, it will no longer be backed up by Connected. In 60 days, all versions of the file will be deleted from the Connected server. Follow the steps below to deselect files:

  1. Launch Connected software by double-clicking on the icon in the system tray. Connected TLM icon

  2. Click on the Backup View tab.

  3. On the left side of the screen, select Explore to pick files from the options along the left side of the window. A list of files is displayed.

  4. Connected will list all files it finds on your machine.

  5. To deselect a single file from the backup, navigate on the left side of the screen to the directory in which the file resides.
    • When the file name appears on the right side of the screen, you may click in the checkbox to the left of the file name until a red X appears in the checkbox.
      • If you make a mistake, click in the box again until it turns a green checkmark appears in the box.
    • Note: The changes you make during the current Connected software session will affect future sessions. The files you deselect will not be backed up in future sessions.

  6. To deselect an entire folder for backup, click on the folder name on the left side of the screen.
    • On the right side of the screen, a choice appears at the top of the file and folder list that reads " This entire folder..." Click in the checkbox to the left of that choice.
    • The Backup Rule Wizard screen appears asking how you would like to handle the files in that directory. Choose Don't back up any files in this directory and click OK.

 

 

Connected policy stipulates that if you do not back up to Connected for a 60 days, that account is considered no longer in use and will be deleted. If you delete a file from your computer it will be deleted from the backup server after 60 days. If you deselect a file from your backup list, the file will be deleted from the backup server after 60 days.

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2004 All rights reserved.
Created: amq 09/05/1999
Revised: kcw 04/22/2004
Reviewed: 10/25/2004