There are a number of different ways to transfer calls. Click on one of the following links to find information for the type of transfer you are interested in.
Blind Transfers
Use a
blind transfer if you do not need to speak with the recipient before transferring the call.
If the intended recipient does not answer, the caller is sent to the recipient’s voicemail.
- On the
toolbar, click
Transfer, or right-click on the call, then choose
Transfer.
- In the
Recipient field, enter the name of the party the call is being transferred to (the recipient).
To inform the recipient of the caller's identity, you can type the caller’s name in the caller name field.
- Click
Transfer Now. The call is transferred to the recipient and disappears from the
My Interactions window.
The original caller and the transfer recipient are connected.
Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.
Parking Calls
Use
Park a Call if a prospective transfer recipient is on the phone at the moment.
The caller is put in a queue until the recipient picks up the call. The recipient can see the call with the
On Hold symbol.
- On the
toolbar, click on the
Park button
or right-click on the call, and choose
Park.
- In the
Recipient field, type the name of the party the call is being transferred to (the recipient).
You can type the caller’s name in the
caller name field to inform the recipient of the caller’s identity.
Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.
Consult Transfers
Use a
consult transfer to speak with the recipient before transferring the call. If the intended recipient does not answer the phone, you can resume speaking with the caller
, transfer the call to the intended recipient’s voice mail, or transfer to another person. Calls can be transferred from any queue being monitored.
When a user calls you and you want to do a consult transfer:
- On the
toolbar, click
Transfer or right-click the call, then choose Transfer
- In the
Recipient field, type the number or name of the transfer recipient.
- Click on the
Make Consult Call button.
- If the intended recipient answers the phone and agrees to the transfer, click
Transfer Now.
The call is transferred and disappears from your
My Interactions window.
OR
If the transfer recipient does not answer the phone, click on
Speak to Caller.
Then type another number in the Recipient field and click either
Make Consult Call or
Transfer Now.
Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.
Drag and Drop Transfers
You can transfer a call from My Interactions by dragging it to another call, the company directory, or a workgroup.
To drag and drop to My Calls:
- Place a call.
- Place a second call.
The first call is automatically placed on hold.
- Announce the transfer to the second call.
- Select the second call and, while holding down the mouse button, drag that call to the held call in the My Interactions window.
The calls are now connected to each other, and are removed from your client.
Note: After dragging a call from the My Calls list to another call in the My Calls list, a confirmation dialog box appears.
You can transfer a call to an extension inside your organization by dragging it from your My Interactions window and dropping it on a name in the company directory.
This is similar to a blind transfer because you are not consulting the recipient of the transfer.
- Tell the customer that you will transfer their call.
- If it is not already open, click the
Company Directory tab on the
Telephone page.
- Select and drag the call from
My Interactions to the name in the Company Directory.
- The caller is placed on hold, the recipient's phone rings, and the call is moved from your My Interactions window to the transfer recipient’s My Interactions window.
The drag and drop to a workgroup is a blind transfer to any available Client in a workgroup.
Note
: If the Queues page or the Workgroups page is not already running as a separate notebook, create the Queues page or Workgroups page as a new notebook.
- Place a call.
- Select the call to be transferred.
- Announce the transfer.
- While holding down the mouse button, drag that call to the Queues or Workgroups page and drop it in the desired workgroup queue name in the left window.
The call is now transferred to that workgroup and it disappears from My Interactions.
Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.
Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2001
All rights reserved.
Created: amq 11/02/2001
Revised: amq 03/18/2003
Reviewed: 8/10/04