How to stay under 750 MB Connected software quota
Below are some tips to help you meet the 750 MB quota in Connected software. Remember that the 750 MB quota includes files that are selected for backup, but that do not necessarily need to be backed up currently. For more information about the quota, (see Eureka! document 15291 — 750 MB quota in Connected software). You may see the following error(s) if you exceed the quota:
Data Limit Exceeded
The total size of the files you have selected for backup exceeds the limit of the version you are using. Please either deselect some files from backup or upgrade your backup plan.
While exiting Connected software, you may also see additional information:
If you exit the program, future backups will be prevented until some files are deselected.
Do you want to exit now?
Before each of these tasks, close out of Connected. Then complete the task and check to see if you are under the quota yet by launching Connected and clicking on the Backup View tab.
Since your mail archive is included by default in your Connected account (see Eureka! document 15293 — Files backed by default in Connected software), it is to your advantage to manage the size of your archive. Also, managing your archive will help you find needed documents more easily. See Eureka! document 16202 — How to maintain the mail file archive in Lotus Notes. Remember that you must compact your local archive mail file to make sure it reaches it optimal size.
By default, all files and folders in the c:\user folder structure are backed up. You may back up nondata files, including application files for programs you inadvertently installed in the c:\user folder structure. See Eureka! document 15293 — Files backed by default in Connected software for more information about files backed up by default and nondata files.
Look through your c:\user folder
Click on the field names to sort the files and folders by that field.
Note: Once you zip the files into one file, you can delete the separate files, or deselect them from your backup.
You can also deselect the files in the c:\user directory from the backup list, if you wish (see next step).
Connected software policy states that if you deselect a file from your backup list, the file will be deleted from the backup server after 60 days and cannot be retrieved.
If you have a large number of files that are business-related and/or shared by a number of people, consider using a department or project shared server. There are number of specifications you must give in your request. See Eureka! document 55143 — How to request a Project or Department share drive. Note that Connected software is to be used as a disaster recovery tool, not a file storage area. A department share or project share is a more appropriate place for file storage as you can request that the drive be backed up on a regular basis.
Once the megabyte count goes below 750 MB of selected files for backup, you will be able to back up your files.
Connected software policy stipulates that if you do not back up to Connected for a 60 days, that account is considered no longer in use and will be deleted. If you delete a file from your computer it will be deleted from the backup server after 60 days.
Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2004
All rights reserved.
Created: kcw 02/03/2003
Revised: kcw 03/07/2004
Reviewed: 10/25/2004