Note: Only
Resourcers may perform this function.
Should you "Close" or "Cancel" a Service Order? See the suggested resolution and examples below:
-
Closed
status: Use this status to close a service order with multiple resource request lines when a portion of the resource request has been fulfilled and another portion of the resource request has been cancelled.
Example:
- A Service Order is entered with 5 resource request lines. 3 of the resource requests have been filled (closed) and the customer decides they do not need the other 2 resources.
- Since 3 resource request lines are already in Closed status (because resources have been assigned), the Open resource request lines should be cancelled and the status of the Service Order changed to
Closed.
See Eureka! document
15301 — How to close a service order in Resource Management for more information about closing a Service Order.
-
Cancelled status: Use this status to cancel an
entire service order, including all associated assignments and resource request lines.
Example:
- A service order is entered with 2 resource request lines and a week later the customer cancels the project - they no longer need any of the resources they requested.
- In this case, all assignments, including those in Proposed status, should be cancelled. Then all resource request lines should be cancelled (see Eureka! document
15289 — How to cancel a service order in Resource Management for important information and steps to take), and finally the Service Order status changed to Cancelled as well.
See Eureka! document
15289 — How to cancel a service order in Resource Management for more information about cancelling a Service Order.
Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2002
All rights reserved.
Created: kcw 10/03/2002
Revised: jel 10/15/2002
Reviewed: 09/03/2004