Overview of Connected software

Document number: 15326

 

Connected (TLM or Connected DataProtector) is PeopleSoft's supported workstation data recovery tool. Its purpose is disaster recovery. It is not to be used as an archiving or data storage tool.

Generally, employees who are based at the Denver office are on version 7.1 of Connected (called Connected DataProtector) and employees based in ANY other office in the world are on version 6.2 ( Connected TLM). Eureka! documents apply to both versions. Any differences are noted.

For more information about Connected software, click on a link below:

When do backups run?
What files are backed up?(Document 15293)
How often should I back up?
What happens if I don't back up? (Document 11352)
Is there a limit to the amount of files I may back up?
How long do files stay on the Connected Backup server?
Can 2 machines share one account?
How can I tell what version I am on? (Document 15383)
Where can I find more documents about Connected software? (Eureka! Connected software document list)


When do backups run?

By default, Connected software is set to run randomly if your machine is powered on between the hours of 7:00 PM and 7:00 AM daily.

If your machine has not been backed up for about 36 hours, it will start a backup once you connect to the PeopleSoft network.

When you reboot or shut down your machine, you will be prompted with a question of whether you wish to back up your machine.

You may also run backups manually.

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.

 

 


How often should I back up?

You should back up every day you use your computer. If your machine does not automatically back up for you on a regular basis, or when you boot up or shut down ( click here for more information), you should manually back it up when you connect to the network. See Eureka! document 11225 — How to start a manual backup.

 

 

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.

 

 


Is there a limit to the amount of files I may back up?

There is a quota of 750 MB of selected files. If you go over that quota, you cannot back up files to the server until you deselect files to get under the quota. For more information about the quota, click on a link below:

 

 

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.

 

 


How long do files stay on the Connected Backup server?

As long as the file remains on your hard drive, a backup of the file will remain on the Connected Backup server. Once you delete the file from your hard drive, the backup file will deleted from the server after 60 days.

Connected software policy stipulates that if you do not back up to Connected for a 60 days, that account is considered no longer in use and will be deleted. Once the account is deleted it can not be reactivated and the files associated with it are unrecoverable.

Also, if you delete a file from your computer, the file will be deleted from the backup server after 60 days and cannot be retrieved.

 

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.

 


Can 2 machines share one account?

No, each computer must have its own account. That way you will not mix up the data on one machine with the data on another machine.

 

 

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2004 All rights reserved.
Created: kcw 10/15/2003
Revised: kcw 03/06/2004
Reviewed: 10/15/2003