Version control in Process Modeler

Document number: 15331

 

There are no version control tools in Process Modeler. Also, the "Undo" function only works for one change.

The sharing of files is also difficult - 2 people cannot be in the same file at the same time, or the file will become corrupt. Generally, granting access to a model on a file server is not advised if all users have write access to the share.

Since the Undo function only works for one change, you must be careful when working with your models. The advised method of using Process Modeler efficiently to avoid the accidental overwrite of work is the following:

  1. Open the Process Modeler file.

  2. Immediately click on the File menu, then on Save as, and then File...

  3. Navigate to a desired working directory.

  4. Give the file a working name (thus keeping the original file intact) and click Save.

  5. Work and make changes in this working file.

  6. When complete, save the working version. Then click on the File menu, then on Save as, and then File...

  7. If you are confident of your recent changes, navigate to the location of the original file, and rename your working version to the original name. When asked if you wish to overwrite the old file, click Yes.

Your changes will be saved as you specified.

 

 

 

 

 

Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2003 All rights reserved.
Created: kcw 11/20/2003
Reviewed: 10/04/2004