Distribution groups expand in Lotus Notes meeting invitation

Document number: 16170

 

When a distribution group is added as the Invitee on a meeting invitation in Lotus Notes, the group name will expand to list the individuals' names when the invitation is sent. This is a convenient feature in that specific names may be removed prior to the invitation being sent as not all people in a distribution group may need to be invited. A user may also be removed from an invitation after it is sent if they are no longer required to attend.

Removing a name prior to the invitation being sent.

Removing a name after the invitation has been sent.

 

For information on how to create a meeting invitation, see Eureka! document 16033 — How to create a meeting invitation in Lotus Notes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


If a distribution group is added to the Invitee field of a meeting invitation and not all people need to attend the meeting, individual names may be removed prior to the invitation being sent.

To remove a name prior to the invitation being sent:

  1. Enter the distribution group name in the Invitee: field.

  2. Press the {F9} key and the group will expand to list all individual names.

  3. Highlight the entire name that should be removed including the /PeopleSoft or /Consultant/PeopleSoft along with the comma following the name.

    • Example: Wonder Woman/PeopleSoft, Trudy Test/PeopleSoft, Panama Jack/Consultant/PeopleSoft are all listed after the distribution group they are in has been expanded, but Trudy Test does not need to be invited. " Trudy Test/PeopleSoft," (without quotes) should be highlighted.

  4. Press the {Delete} key.

The name will be removed from the Invitee list and will not be included in the invitation when it is sent.

 

Click here to return to the beginning of this document.

 

 

 


If a meeting invitation has been sent to a distribution group and a user is no longer required to attend, the name can be removed from the invitation and a notice will be sent stating they are no longer required to attend.

To remove a name from a meeting invitation after it has been sent:

  1. Open the calendar entry.

  2. Click the Meeting Invitations & Reservations tab.

  3. Click the Remove... button.

  4. Single click on the name or names of the users who no longer need to attend the meeting and click OK.

  5. A pop up window will appear that says, "A notice will be sent to the appropriate invitees informing them that they are no longer required to attend this meeting. __Include additional comments on notice" It is recommended that the chairperson select the option to include additional comments so that an explanation can be added, if needed. Click OK.

    • If the option to include additional comments was selected, a blank form will appear that is addressed to the user who was removed from the meeting. The Subject: will be "update: meeting name" so they are aware it's an update to the invitation. Enter any additional comments needed and click the Send button. The notification will be sent.

When the invitee who has been removed from the meeting opens the updated notice, it will say "You are no longer required to attend this meeting" across the top of the notice along with the additional comments, if added.

NOTE: Only the chairperson may remove names from a meeting invitation.

 

Click here to return to the beginning of this document.

 

 

 

 

 

Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2002 All rights reserved.
Created: dcb 02/27/2002
Reviewed: 08/19/2004