How to stop sharing your C: directory

Document number: 50012

 

Your C: drive has an administrative share put in place, which must not be altered or changed (the share name is C$ if you review the Sharing on the C: drive). If you change or delete htis share, you may remove your ability to access your machine, as well as preventing approved, administrative processes from running successfully.

If you have shared a folder on your machine, and want to remove sharing of that folder, follow these steps:

  1. Open Windows Explorer by right-clicking on the Start button, and click Explore.

  2. Browse to the folder you want to remove sharing. (Shared folders have a hand symbol () under the folder to indicate it is being shared.

  3. Right-click on the folder being shared, and click Sharing...

  4. Click the radio button to the left of "Do not share this folder." The sharing information turns grey.

  5. Click Apply, and then OK. The hand symbol disappears from under the folder.

You have now stopping the sharing on this folder.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 1996, 1999, 2001 All rights reserved.
Created: amq 11/11/1996
Revised: pmg 11/18/2004